Well we won…St Michael Thomas t-shirt up for grabs..

Good day to all you Gooner’s out there.

Well all I can say is that we won, that’s it, oh and thank feck that FC Twente strikers are about as lethal as a doughnut, not the ones with jam inside, the ones you see in the Sainsbury’s bakery bit with the hundred’s and thousand’s – who buys those? Anyway I digress FC Twente are a poor side when it comes to finishing although they play a great passing game. At times they reminded me of The Arsenal (without the flair) with their quick one-twos and passing in triangles. When I say they remind me of The Arsenal I don’t mean The Arsenal that played last night because they played like Bolton the amount of times the ball was in the air I thought my neck was going to give, I mean The Arsenal we know and love that can play the short passing game. I wont knock our team as we won, I wont say it was convincing but we won. 

One thing I would say is that I think Le Gaffer is papering over the cracks citing that the team was very young, well you know what, it shouldn’t be now should it? I’m not sure how many ‘big’ teams would field a 20 year old and a 17 year old in the middle of the park. I know injuries to key players are partly to blame for fielding these youngsters, however timing and a cheque book could of put a potential disaster completely out of mind. Well as I’ve said we won but there was some woeful performances out there and if anything the game does show how paper thin we are when we lose key players. I mean come on Emmanuel Eboué playing on the left wing? FFS! I know Wenger subscribes to the idea of Totaalvoetbal but I think he’s taking it too far now. Eboué is many things, he is a great athlete, but a a greater actor but he certainly isn’t no left sided player, Abou Diaby must be spinning on his treatment table bed. 

I’ve seen on some sites Gooner’s arguing with each other about spending money and injured players etc. However you can’t legislate for the injuries we’ve got already, no one would of thought The Cesc would be injured or new boy Samir Nasri but I think the clever money would be Abou Diaby not playing more than three games in a row and the less said about Tomáš Rosický the better – he makes Darren Anderton positively seem almost Frank Lampard-like, no I don’t mean a fat kebab eating chav but not missing something like 100+ Premier League games in a row. I know surprising isn’t it that Frank Lumpard has a record like that I think it’s something to do with a bonus of every game played he gets to go the Fat Fuk Chinese on Brompton Road and do the all you can eat menu. 

Anyway Gooner’s joking aside, we were dire – I actually missed the first goal as I was texting my brother Brian and keeping him in the loop as he doesn’t have Setanta and even when we scored I didn’t get overly excited. I’m glad we won, of course I am – I just think we need to seriously address what we have in the middle of the park and not have to rely on two youngsters to get us to a big fat mouthwatering prize worth potentially £10-£15m. Also with Aaron Ramsey we only bought him in the summer when many thought he was going to sign up for Manchester USA, who the hell would play in the middle if we didn’t have him? Another 17 year old, a 16 year old? Could you imagine if we lost or drew that game? The money Wenger thinks he’s saving or more to the point not spending wouldn’t be an issue as there would be huge pressure on us and the worst case scenario would be too horrific to consider. I know one player with experience we wont be getting is Xabi Alonso as the hubcap nicking, shell suit wearing, giro getting Liverpool Scallies USA played him in their 0-0 draw with Belgium champions Standard Liege – so bang goes that signing. But as much as I faith in the kids we need some much needed experience to help them out. We got away with it last night but a better team and yes there will be better will punish us. However I will say – well done boys! And Wenger please get your wallet out before it’s too late.

2 Responses to Well we won…St Michael Thomas t-shirt up for grabs..

  1. Rae says:

    My comment yesterday referes!!! It’s worrying that when you see Denilson clutching he’s ankle, like he did at one stage last night, you have NOBODY to replace him in the middle. We have 4 central midfielders, 3 if you take into account Diaby’s love of the treatment room, not good enough. I am a big Wegner fan but seriously Arsene, your taking the piss this time.

  2. Matt says:

    We need a hard man. Another Pat. A guy who can scare the other team and the young lads we have. 4 years ago we have a fair few guys who could rough it up, and we always have, but I think half of what we have now would run away from Michael Owen. Mauybe because they are still boys. THEO LOOKS SO BLOODY YOUNG, even against the other kids in the team. They won’t last agist some of the teams, when it’s a cold horrid day playing agaist a larger, older team of basta**s. Like Portsmouth’s lot, or even Boltons crew who have seriously kicked our arse a few times recently. We look weak. Really week. Even with the first time, I think we look a little thin. And as for Ada-buy – me, I wish he had pissed off, coz his heart has gone. And at half speed he is total shit.

    How many times, do we have to start the season worried. Hoping that again Wenger pulls it out and makes us proud. I just wish we could have a season coming up where we thought, “YES! let’s bloody go!, We have a cracking side this time!”…but we don’t recently, I think as a relm supporter thats sad.

Leave a comment